Losing Small Fortune As Replacement for Disaster

When someone starts to blog again after ceasing for a period of time, they will usually starts with sentences like, “I’ve not blog for xxx days because I’m lazy and xxx.” Well, I think I’m just gonna stick with the common. I’ve not been updating my blog for a while now. Partly due to laziness, mostly due to not knowing what and how to write.

Anyway, I feel rather lethargic spiritually today. With no mood to do anything, except being idle. I have to admit it today that I wasted a big chunk of my time at office. (No one from my office read blogs. I mean, I don’t think they even know what a blog is.) What was I doing? Not gonna tell. I did work, just that it takes longer for me to get my work done than usual.

I don’t know why, perhaps it’s the trip to Gohtong Jaya over the weekend. I kinda miss Genting Highlands having used been up there so often for work. I couldn’t remember my last trip there, probably half a year ago? Gohtong Jaya is not even half way up to Genting, but the weather there is cool enough and looking out of the window from our 7th floor apartment, the breeze relaxes my mind, and the green scenery soothes my eyes. I think it’s a break that I have needed all the while. Can you believe it I had a really good night sleep on the cold-hard-carpeted floor?

Looking back at last week, I met with an accident on the way to work! Damn. It was Thursday morning, and probably my mind was not working properly after watching the match between AS Roma and Man Utd. There was a small truck moving really slow with about 6 or 7 cars following behind it. I was no doubt one of the cars.

When we’re moving uphill, I saw the van two cars in front of me turn right into another road, and I though, what the heck, I can’t stand it at this pace. So, I decided to follow the van and make a right turn. I checked the side mirror and it’s clear. I turn the steering and as my car was turning right really slow, out of a sudden, a motorbike appear. He seems to notice that I was trying to turn, and I guess perhaps he wanted to get past me first before letting me turn, he sped up his motorbike.

Initially, I hesitated, but decided to go ahead and turn. And the rest they say is history. That sonofabitch crashed his motorbike into the side of my car and skidded at the junction. Luckily he was alright, except with spots of abrasions on his arms, palms and sholders. I think it’s my fault because I hesitated.

What ridiculous is when he asked for RM500 as compensation. In my mind, I was like, “WTF?” (My jaw nearly touches the ground). I told him it wouldn’t even cost that much if the damage is on my car. Then he lowers it to RM200. And then, some contruction workers working at one of the houses there suggested to bring the motorbike to the workshop and I shall pay for it. I think it’s fair. By the way, the motorcyclist is an Indonesian construction worker. And I believe the damaged on his motorbike will cost him a bomb.

It’s a bomb to me too, but first and foremost, it’s my fault for hesitating while turning. In fact, a guy in a Mercedes stopped and commented in a high tone. He came down from his car for a while to make sure everything is alright and left. Then, a grandma who were outside of her house when the accident happened came over. She said she met with the same accident before. Just repair the motorbike for him and take him to the clinic will do.

The bills?

Motorbike repair – RM230

Medical – RM40 (Receipt on my name. Can claim. Hehe…)

Kenari side mirror – RM120

What a day that was! Looking on the bright side, the chinese has a saying that says “lose small fortune as a replacement for big disaster.” It better is. Haha…

Leave a Reply

