14 steps to develope patience

from Bro Oh 

I SHOULD NOT …

  • Dwell on my troubles and aches and pains.

  • Think I’m always right and win people’s approval for everything I do.

  • Think that I always know what is best for people.

  • Think that because people disagree, they are unreasonable.

  • Think that all the unpleasant things happen to me.

  • Think that ambition and what I want are all-important.

  • Expect people’s temperament, character and behaviour to be what I like.

I SHOULD …

  • Recognize that the more I dwell on my troubles and pains, the worse they seem.

  • Recognize how impossible it is to please all the people all the time.

  • Recognize that I cannot always get people to do what I want as a matter of course.

  • Recognize that people are entitled to their opinions.

  • Recognize that everybody has off-days.

  • Recognize the danger of expecting too much from life, myself and other people.

  • Practice mindfulness of my mental states and outside phenomena.

With Metta,

Bro. Oh Teik Bin

Leave a Reply

