What is the meaning of life

I read with interest Onn Yeoh’s latest entry about the meaning of life. It’s a very short and to the point entry.

The meaning of life

I had an unexpected late night online conversation with a friend last night. He told me that lately, he’s been thinking about life and has concluded that it’s quite pointless.

I instinctively knew what he was talking about and told him about an interview I had with the Chief. I had asked him, “What’s the meaning of life?” and the Chief’s reply was “There is no meaning.”

What the Chief meant and what my friend felt is quite simply this: We are here. And there’s all that there is to it. While we’re here, though, we might as well make the most of it. Do something to relieve the suffering of yourself and others, and do something meaningful to gain some form of self-fulfillment. That’s the best we can do.
It’s exactly how I feel too. 

Posted on Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 03:26 by Registered CommenterOon Yeoh | CommentsPost a Comment

What caught my attention is not the entry, it’s Chief Rev’s reply. “There is no meaning.”

What is there to live for, by the way?

Life is impermenant, anyway. We’re all going to die one day.

This reminds me of a book that I read some times ago. Many Lives, Many Masters, by Brian L Weiss, MD. It’s an interesting book, and maybe I shall write about it later.

Coming back to the meaning of life topic, sometimes I really felt there is no real meaning to life. What is there to live for, really?

Some want to excel at work.

Some want to become a successful businessman.

Some want to be filial.

Some just want to enjoy themselves.

Some want more money.

Some want to travel.

Some want to do more charity work.

But we are all going to die anyway. And when you die, does all these really matters? People work hard and dedicate a big portion of their lives to achieve something, but when they are gone, it doesn’t really matter if you are the richest man in the world, or a beggar by the street. You die, and you are left with nothing. You come with nothing, and thus, you leave with nothing.

What Onn Yeoh says is true!

“What the Chief meant and what my friend felt is quite simply this: We are here. And there’s all that there is to it. While we’re here, though, we might as well make the most of it. Do something to relieve the suffering of yourself and others, and do something meaningful to gain some form of self-fulfillment. That’s the best we can do.

It’s exactly how I feel too.”

I feel that way too! Sometimes, I try my best to achieve something, and once in a while, I do ask myself is all these worth it? I really don’t know, but when I succeed, I felt a certain level of contentment. At least, I’ve lived to be a useful person.

Sometimes I feel listless too. Restless as if something is troubling me. I become worried, and couldn’t sleep. I just don’t know why. I don’t know what I am doing, and don’t know why I am doing. My mind is filled with question marks! A lot of things that I do not really know. At times, I don’t even know whether what I’m doing is right or wrong. Or whether my decision is a good one or a bad one. I don’t know. It’s all in question marks.

But, one thing I surely know is that I must treasure my family members. There are billions and billions of people in this world, and to be born into the same small family, there must be some bond that brings us together. Why am I not born into the Gates family? or the Tan Sri’s family? There must be something really special and mysterious that brings us together, in one family.

As I grows up, I’ve learned to treasure my family members more and more. I’ve never seen my grandma’s angry face, even from young. My parents? I wouldn’t trade them with any other in this world. And I couldn’t have asked for better sisters than I have now. They are the Fantastic Five! And my brother, he ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

Leave a Reply

